2016 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) – List of winners

Stephanie Linus at the 2016 AMVCA

Stephanie Linus at the 2016 AMVCA

The 2016 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) was held Saturday night at Eko Hotel & Suites, Lagos, Nigeria. This year’s awards is the fourth in the series, and the event which was filled with glamour can aptly be christened as the Oscars of Africa.

This year’s movie of the year went to the amazing Stephanie Linus for the movie Dry. Stephanie dedicated the awards to all girls and ladies with VVF (Vesicovaginal Fistula) and she indeed once again addressed the issues of the girl child & early child marriage in our society.

The full list of winners at the 2016 AMVCA  are listed below.

  • Stephanie Linus – Best Overall Movie (Dry)
  • Akin Omotosho  – Best Director
  • Daniel K Daniel –  Best Actor, Drama (A SOLDIER’S STORY)
  • Adesua Etomi – Best Actress , Drama (Falling)
  • Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji, Chichi Nwoko win Best Movie – West African (Road to Yesterday)
  • Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq Daba –  Industry Merit Award
  • Kemi Lala Akindoju – Trailblazer Award
  • Funke Akindele – Best Actress, Comedy (Jenifa’s Diary)

    Funke Akindele - Jenifa at AMVCA 2016

    Funke Akindele – Jenifa at AMVCA 2016

  • Folarin Falana – Best Actor , Comedy (Jenifa’s Diary) Funke Akindele at the awards
  • Paul Michaelson wins Best Cinematographer award
  • Elizabeth Michael – Best Movie ( East African)
  • Joyce Mhango Chavula – Best Movie – Southern Africa
  • Tunbosun Aiyedehin -Best Supporting Actress (Before 30)
  • Sambassa Nzeribe – Best Supporting Actor (A Soldier’s Story)
  • Remi Vaughan-Richards –  Best Documentary
  • Paul Igwe – Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series (Usekwu Igbo )
  • Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola – Best Indigenous Language Movie (Yoruba) (Binta Ofege)
  • Salisu Balarabe – Best Local Language Movie ( Hausa)
  • Josephat Lukaza – Best Indigenous Language Series or Movie (Swahili) ( Kitendawili )
  • Uche Nancy – Best Costume Designer for (Dry)
  • Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Best Picture Editor Award
  • Paul Michaelson –  Best Cinematographer *Stanlee Ohikhuare – Best Lighting
  • Trish Malone – Best Drama Writer
  • Oluseyi Amuwa – Best Short Film /Online Video


Leave a Reply